Supreme Court will get five new judges today, Chief Justice DY Chandrachud will take oath


Supreme Court: Chief Justice DY Chandrachud (DY Chandrachud) will administer the oath of office to five new judges in the Supreme Court today (6 February). These five include Rajasthan High Court Chief Justice Pankaj Mittal, Patna High Court Chief Justice Sanjay Karol, Manipur High Court Chief Justice PV Sanjay Kumar, Patna High Court Chief Justice Ahsanuddin Amanullah and Allahabad High Court Justice Manoj Mishra.

Chief Justice Pankaj Mittal

Pankaj Mittal’s original cadre is Allahabad High Court. Chief Justice Pankaj Mittal started practice at the Allahabad High Court in 1985 and served as standing counsel for the Uttar Pradesh Housing and Development Board. He was also the Standing Counsel of Dr BR Ambedkar University, Agra between 1990 and February 2006. Justice Mittal was elevated as an Additional Judge of the Allahabad High Court on July 7, 2006 and was sworn in as a permanent Judge on July 2, 2008. He was sworn in as the Chief Justice of the common High Court for the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir and the Union Territory of Ladakh on January 4, 2021.


Justice Sanjay Karol

The second senior judge who is going to take oath today is Justice Karol, whose original High Court cadre is Himachal Pradesh. At the time of promotion, he was the Chief Justice of Patna High Court. Justice Karol was born on August 23, 1961. Justice Karol practiced in various courts including the High Court. He has expertise in matters relating to Constitution, Taxation, Corporate, Criminal and Civil. He was designated as a Senior Advocate in 1999.


Justice Karol was also the Advocate General of Himachal Pradesh from 1998 to 2003 and was elevated as a Judge of the Himachal Pradesh High Court on March 8, 2007. He was appointed as the Acting Chief Justice of the court with effect from 25 April 2017. He was appointed as the Chief Justice of Tripura High Court on November 9, 2018 and Patna High Court on November 11, 2019.


Justice P V Sanjay Kumar

Justice Kumar is originally associated with the Telangana High Court. He is third in the list of five judges and was the chief justice of the Manipur High Court when recommended by the collegium on December 13 last year and later approved by the Centre. He was born on August 14, 1963. He graduated in commerce from Nizam College, Hyderabad and obtained his LLB degree from Delhi University in 1988. Justice Kumar enrolled as a member of the Bar Council of Andhra Pradesh in August 1988 and served as a public prosecutor in the Andhra Pradesh High Court from 2000 to 2003.

He was elevated to the bench as an additional judge of the Andhra Pradesh High Court on August 8, 2008, and took over as a permanent judge of the court on January 20, 2010. Justice Kumar assumed charge as a judge of the Punjab and Haryana High Court on October 14, 2019. He took oath as Chief Justice of Manipur High Court on February 14, 2021.

Justice Ahsanuddin Amanullah

Justice Amanullah of the Patna High Court is the fourth judge to be appointed to the apex court. He was born on May 11, 1963. He enrolled with the Bihar State Bar Council on September 27, 1991 and was the Standing Counsel of the State Government from March 2006 to August 2010. He was a Government Pleader in the Patna High Court. He was elevated as a judge in the same court on June 20, 2011. He was transferred to Andhra Pradesh High Court on October 10, 2021 and back to Patna High Court on June 20, 2022.

Justice Manoj Mishra

Justice Mishra was born on June 2, 1965. He enrolled as an advocate on 12 December 1988 and was elevated as Additional Judge of the Allahabad High Court on 21 November 2011. He took the oath of office as a permanent judge on 6 August 2013.

Read this also.

‘Water war, China and farmers’, KCR lashed out at the Center in Nanded, said- this time the farmer’s government

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *